Sat, 01 Jun | Moseley Yoga

The Eight Limbs of Yoga Series - 5. PRATYAHARA

In Patañjali’s Yoga Sutras, the Eight Limbs of Yoga act as guidelines on living a meaningful and purposeful life. They serve as a prescription for moral and ethical conduct and self-discipline, directing our attention toward our health and help us acknowledge the spiritual aspects of our nature.
Registration is Closed
The Eight Limbs of Yoga Series - 5. PRATYAHARA

Time & Location

01 Jun 2019, 10:00 – 12:00
Moseley Yoga, 498-504 Moseley Rd, Birmingham B12 9AH, UK

About The Event

In Patanjali's Yoga Sutra, the eightfold path is called Ashtanga, which literally means "eight limbs".

Laur Bee and Sri Vijay Anand will guide you through eight sessions where you can delve deeper into yogic philosophy and learn how to incorporate Patanjali's teachings into our modern lives.


Sense withdrawal.

Pratya means to ‘withdraw’, and ahara refers to anything we ‘take in’, such as the various sights, sounds and smells our senses take in continuously. The phrase ‘sense withdrawal’ could conjure up images of the ability to actually switch our senses ‘off’ through concentration, which is why this aspect of practice is often misunderstood.

Instead of actually losing the ability to hear and smell, to see and feel, the practice of pratyahara changes our state of mind so that we become so absorbed in what it is we’re focussing on, that the things outside of ourselves no longer bother us and we’re able to meditate without becoming easily distracted. Experienced practitioners may be able to translate pratyahara into everyday life – being so concentrated and present to the moment at hand, that things like sensations and sounds don’t easily distract the mind.

This practice really helps us to notice and observe what is occurring without getting involved with the story, it’s often what we may call becoming a witness or the observer to events and situations.

During the two hour workshop there will be a 45 minute asana practice based around PRATYAHARA and throughout the session we will discuss what Patanjali meant by PRATYAHARA and how we can use these practices in our modern lives.

*There will be eight sessions on each of the Eight Limbs, please feel free to join any that attract you, and a discount is offered when booking all eight.

  • Eight Limbs of Yoga Workshop 5
  • Full EightLimbs of Yoga Series

Share This Event