Sat, 30 Mar | Moseley Yoga

The Eight Limbs of Yoga Series - 1. YAMA

In Patañjali’s Yoga Sutras, the Eight Limbs of Yoga act as guidelines on living a meaningful and purposeful life. They serve as a prescription for moral and ethical conduct and self-discipline, directing our attention toward our health and help us acknowledge the spiritual aspects of our nature.
Registration is Closed
The Eight Limbs of Yoga Series - 1. YAMA

Time & Location

30 Mar 2019, 10:00 – 12:00
Moseley Yoga, 498-504 Moseley Rd, Birmingham B12 9AH, UK

About The Event

In Patanjali's Yoga Sutra, the eightfold path is called Ashtanga, which literally means "eight limbs".

Laur Bee and Sri Vijay Anand will guide you through eight sessions where you can delve deeper into yogic philosophy and learn how to incorporate Patanjali's teachings into our modern lives.

Session 1. YAMA

The outer observances.

Referring to practices that are primarily concerned with the world around us, and our interaction with it. While the practice of yoga can indeed increase physical strength and flexibility and aid in calming the mind, what’s the point if we’re still weak, rigid and stressed-out in day-to-day life? You can also look at the YAMAS in a do as you would be done by or treat others as you'd like to be treated.

The five YAMAS are:

1. Ahimsa: non-harming or nonviolence in thoughts and actions

2. Satya: truthfulness in what we say and do

3. Asteya: non stealing

4. Brahmacārya: self-restraint

5. Aparigraha: non-grasping or non-hoarding

During the two hour workshop there will be a 45 minute asana practice based around the YAMAS and throughout the session we will discuss what Patanjali meant by the five YAMAS and how we can use these practices in our modern lives.

*There will be eight sessions on each of the Eight Limbs, please feel free to join any that attract you, and a discount is offered when booking all eight.

  • Eight Limbs of Yoga Workshop 1
  • Full EightLimbs of Yoga Series

Share This Event